Eat The World

195 Countries

Finishing off Finland February 9, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — Emily @ 10:56 pm

The last two things I made were very tasty. Jansson’s Frestelse was a potato gratin with canned fish. The recipe I used said not to use canned anchovies but I didn’t have many options at the grocery store. I settled for smoked kippers. If I made this again, I might just use small pieces  of cod.

351

 

This dish was delicious! My coworker and husband said it smelled awful (very fishy)  but I would eat it again (not at work).

 

The final Finnish dessert was Runeberg’s Torte.  I wasn’t about to go out and buy cake molds so I made these in a mini muffin pan. The recipe calls for gingersnaps which I also wasn’t about to go out and buy when I could make at home from scratch. So I made the gingersnaps, let them dry out a little bit and then used them for this recipe. The cake was orangey, gingerbready, almondy and rummy.

427

 

Runeberg’s Torte is made in Finland in February to celebrate a famous Finnish poet, Johan Runeberg.  Don’t let them dry out and enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

